Dear Cora: Letters for April 23, 2014

black heart

Dear Cora,

My ex-boyfriend is a neo-Nazi skinhead, and he’s been stalking me. He’s pretty easy to hear coming in his combat boots, but I’m getting sick of him breaking my windows. If I change my name to “The Holocaust,” will he cease to think I exist?

B’shalom,
Esther

Dear Esther,

You’re so clever! But I’m not sure that will work. It may be worth a shot–have you looked into the process for legally changing your name? In the mean time, there are other precautions you could take. If you are able to, I recommend moving and ensuring that your new address is not listed publicly anywhere on the web. You should also talk to your local police about a restraining order. Finally, don’t forget: Ear, nose, throat, knee, groin. These are the best places to inflict pain on an attacker.

Good luck!
Cora

 

black heart

Dear Cora,

So first I will come out and say that I am gay. My boyfriend and I met at Yale, and he really means the world to me. Only thing is, he’s a member of the Skull and Bones, and I’m not. I don’t think he is out to his brothers, and I respect that, but I don’t like feeling hidden while he’s off plotting how to consolidate power. Is this a conversation I should have with him? I don’t want to lose him.

Sincerely,
“Blaine”

 

Dear “Blaine,”

How exciting to know someone who’s a member of Skull & Bones! I can understand where you’re coming from. This is a tough situation: are you interested in joining and becoming one of his brothers, or do you just need to put it out there that you sometimes feel left out? Do you want him to come out to his brothers? This is a question you’ll need to know before you sit down to talk with him. If you don’t want to lose him, the best thing is to talk about it now before too much resentment gets built up and his plotting to rule the world becomes your irreconcilable differences. Just tell him how you feel. If he cares about you, he will listen.

Hugs,
Cora

 

black heart

Dear Cora,

So there’s this girl I’ve been following on Facebook and Twitter for a while. She doesn’t actually know me, but she only lives a few minutes away from me in [REDACTED]. I’m trying to work up the nerve to say something to her, but I’m afraid that I’ll come off as a crazy psycho stalker if it comes out that I know so much! I feel stuck. Can you help?

Thanks,
Ennis A.

 

Dear Ennis,

What a position you’ve put yourself in! The internet is a wonderful tool for stalking and making people look like psychos both. Have you tried communicating with her via Twitter or Facebook? This would be a great way to make your presence known and to keep it from startling her when she finds out you know so much about her thanks to social media. If the feelings are mutual based on these interactions, then you could move on to face-to-face interaction. This is likely the best way to keep from looking too stalkerish.

Stalk on, within reason!
Cora

 


cora

CORA L. V. SCOTT is an author and lecturer from upstate New York.  Her interests include esoteric elocution and pantheistic spiritualism.

Have a question for Cora?  You can e-mail her here.

Leave a Reply

